IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship

The WeatherTech SportsCar Championship is campaigned in the United States and Canada and organized by the International Motor Sports Association (IMSA). It results from a merger between two previous North American sports car racing series, the American Le Mans Series and Rolex Sports Car Series. From 2013 through 2015 the series was sponsored by Rolex’s Tudor brand; starting in 2016 the title sponsor is WeatherTech.

The series consists of twelve endurance races — eleven in the US and one in Canada (at Canadian Tire Motorsports Park) — plus a test session each January called The Roar Before the 24, leading up to the season’s first race — the Rolex 24 At Daytona.

Competitors are divided between two sports prototype categories and two grand touring classes:

  • Prototype (P): the flagship class, combining former Grand-Am Daytona Prototypes with American Le Mans Series P2 prototypes
  • Prototype Challenge (PC): a ‘spec’ class carried over from the American Le Mans Series, featuring Chevrolet-powered Oreca prototypes with tires from Continental
  • GT Le Mans (GTLM): the premier Grand Touring (GT) class, based on production vehicles, and the class in which the Ford GTs compete. Developed from the road cars Multimatic will build, the Ford GTs are modified to conform to the Automobile Club de l’Ouest‘s GTE specifications
  • GT Daytona (GTD): a class now built to FIA GT3 specifications and requiring a mix of professional and amateur drivers

Some races run only select classes of cars. For example, while all classes contest the Rolex 24, the Grand Prix of Long Beach permits only Prototype (P) and GT Le Mans (GTLM) entries.

Multimatic Motorsports supplies cars and support to the US-based Ford Chip Ganassi Racing team, which competes in the GT Le Mans (GTLM) category with the following two cars and associated driver lineups:


Schedules, Timing and Scoring

Video and Streaming Audio


News and Feature Articles

Multimatic Motorsports Social Media Channels